Cultivation Information Nurseries

To produce compact and sturdy plants we recommend to largely open the vents. The cooler the hydrangeas are being cultivated, the more stable their structure becomes and the stronger the colouring will be. Frost exposure has to be prevented, though.

The vent temperature should be adjusted to the average night temperature. The maximum difference should not exceed 5-8°C. That means, amounts the average night temperature to 5°C, the vents should open during the day at 10-12°C latest. Is the difference too large, length growth is fostered unnecessarily and the hydrangeas develop a softer structure.

It is important as well to take good care to ventilate unnecessary moist away. Should the vents stay closed during a cold period with high air humidity it is recommended to ventilate once or twice a day, otherwise again a soft structure will be the result.

The soil should have a rough structure and be well permeable to air. All big soil suppliers have readymade hydrangea mixtures and we recommend these. Please feel also free to ask one of our sales representatives nearby. They offer soil as well and know the requirements of hydrangea soils.

The soil should be fertilized with approx. 3 kg/m³ Osmocote Exact Standard (15-9-12-2,5Mg) 5-6M and 200g/m³ Micromax (trace elements).

For blue hydrangeas the pH-value should be adjusted to 4.5-4.8 and maybe 1kg/m³ Al sulfate should be added. Or you immerse the hydrangeas into an Al sulphate solution before potting.

For red, pink and white hydrangeas no Al sulphate may be used and the pH-value should be adjusted to 5.5.

We work with a pH-value of around 4.2. Therefore we recommend a single fertilization with al sulphate of 1.5% (15g/L water) befor potting. (Please use this concentration only with Al sulphate, not with potassic aluminum.) It is as well possible to immerse the hydrangeas into a stock solution before potting, but please note that the foliage and the buds have to be rinsed off with clear water, then.

Complimentary fertilization should only be done in coordination with a consultant of the company ICL, because water quality can make a difference as well.

If the technical equipment makes it possible to refertilize with a dosatron or EC-regulated, we recommend to give “Universol weiß” (15-0-19-2Mg) once or twice per week at a dosage of 1.0g/l at the beginning of cultivation (after rooting in the container). After every second to third fertilization Universol weiß can be substituted by Universol orange (16-5-25-3.4Mg).

It is advisable to additionally solute 200g Tenso Iron ( Fa. Yara) per every 25kg Universol into the stock solution, to ensure enough iron is given and to receive a bright colouring of the foliage.

If you do not have the technical equipment we recommend to refertilize with Osmoform (19-5-13-2Mg), ca. 1.5-2.0g/l (after rooting in the container).
As required, leaf-feeding is possible as well. Here, it is advisable to start the culturing with Peters Professional Foliar Feed (27-15-12), given in several treatments with 1.0g/l. Near the end of cultivation time it should be switched to Peters Professional Combi-Sol (6-18-36-3 +SpE).

 

 

To prevent unwanted lenght growth hydrangeas may be treated with Alar (0.1-0.4%) or Desmel/Tilt (0.02 – 0.03%) up to once a week. The frequency and a possible increase of the concentration is very much dependent on the cultivation and climate management as well as the weather. Therefore, we recommend to approach higher concentration cautiously. Furthermore, the treatment with Desmel/Tilt should be stopped shortly before the petals can be spotted, because it can lead to discolouration. 

In the cultivation of hydrangeas usually no plant protection is necessary. Only aphids and botrytis can become a problem. Concerning aphids, Pirimor is well compatible to hydrangeas, and against botrytis Switch and Teldor proved to be worthwile. The compatibility has to be checked in each case, though, because the plants stage of development is decisive.

This recommendation has been written in cooperation with the company ICL. Therefore, please contact your ICL advisor with any questions about substrate fertilization or additional fertilization.

We hope we could help you into a good start for the hydrangea season. If you have any further questions about the above mentioned or other topics, feel free to contact us. Please bear in mind that we can only give recommendations and will not take any liability in case of damages or in licensing questions.

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch

Kulturinformationen Baumschule

Um kompakte und stabile Pflanzen zu produzieren empfiehlt es sich die Lüftungen weitestgehend zu öffnen. Je kühler die Hortensien kultiviert werden, desto stabiler der Aufbau und desto intensiver ist die Ausfärbung. Frost muss allerdings verhindert werden.

Die Lüftungstemperatur sollte der nächtlichen Durchschnittstemperatur angepasst werden. Die maximale Differenz sollte ca. 5-8°C nicht überschreiten. Das heißt, ist die durchschnittliche Nachttemperatur bei ca. 5°C sollte Tagsüber spätestens ab 10-12°C die Lüftung geöffnet werden. Liegt die Differenz zu hoch fördern wir das Längen-wachstum unnötig und die Hortensien werden weicher im Aufbau.

Es ist ebenfalls wichtig darauf zu achten das unnötige Feuchtigkeit abgelüftet wird. Sollten in einer kalten Zeit die Lüftungen geschlossen bleiben empfiehlt es sich bei hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit diese 1 bis 2 mal am Tag abzulüften, da sonst ebenfalls ein weicher langer Pflanzenaufbau die Folge ist.

Das Substrat sollte eine grobe Struktur haben und sehr Luftdurchlässig sein. Alle großen Substratlieferanten haben fertige Hortensienmischungen, wir empfehlen auf diese zurückzugreifen. Fragen Sie hierzu am besten direkt einen unserer Außendienstler, die jeweils ebenfalls Substrate anbieten und die Anforderungen an ein Hortensien-Substrat kennen.

Das Substrat sollte mit ca. 3,0kg/m³ Osmocote Exact Standard (15-9-12-2,5Mg) 5-6M und 200g/m³ Micromax (Spurenelemente) aufgedüngt werden.

Für blaue Hortensien sollte der pH-Wert auf ca. 4,5-4,8 eingestellt werden und eventuell 1kg/m³ Al Sulfat mit eingemischt werden oder man taucht die Hortensien vor dem Topfen in einer Al Sulfat Lösung.

Für rote, rosa und weiße Hortensien darf kein AL-Sulfat verwendet werden und der pH-Wert sollte auf 5,5 eingestellt werden.

In diesem Jahr liegen wir mit dem PH-Wert der Blauen Hortensien bei 4,2. Wir empfehlen daher eine einmalige Düngung mit AL-Sulfat von 1,5% ( 15g/L Wasser) vor dem Topfen der Hortensien.(Konzentrationen bitte nur bei AL-Sulfat anwenden nicht bei Kalialaun!). Es ist auch möglich die Hortensien vor den Topfen in einer Stammlösung zu tauchen, es ist nur zu beachten, das das Laub und die Knospen mit klarem Wasser abgespült werden.

Die Nachdüngung sollte nur nach Abstimmung mit einem Berater der Firma ICL erfolgen, da auch die Wasserqualitäten eine große Rolle spielen können.

Lässt die technische Ausstattung es zu die Hortensien flüssig nachzudüngen mittels Dosatron oder EC-Geregelter Düngung empfehlen wir zu Beginn der Kultur (nach dem Einwurzeln in den Container) mit Universol weiß (15-0-19-2Mg) je nach Bedarf ca. 1-2 Mal pro Woche mit 1,0g/l zu Düngen. Universol weiß kann auch nach jeder 2-3 Düngung durch Universol orange (16-5-25-3,4Mg) ersetzt werden.

Es empfiehlt sich pro 25kg Universol 200g Tenso Iron ( Fa. Yara) mit in der Stammlösung aufzulösen, um die Eisenversorgung sicherzustellen und eine kräftige Laubfärbung zu erhalten.

Haben sie die technische Ausstattung nicht, empfehlen wir zur Nachdüngung (nach dem Einwurzeln in den Container) mit Osmoform (19-5-13-2Mg), ca. 1,5-2,0g/l nachzulegen.

Bei Bedarf kann auch mittels Blattdüngung gearbeitet werden, hier empfiehlt sich zu Beginn der Kultur mit Peters Professional Foliar Feed (27-15-12), in mehreren Anwendungen mit 1,0g/l zu spritzen. Zum ende der Kultur sollte dann zu Peters Professional Combi-Sol (6-18-36-3 +SpE) gewechselt werden.

Um ein zu starkes Längenwachstum zu verhindern kann man die Hortensien auch bis zu 1 Mal pro Woche mit Alar (0,1-0,4%) oder Desmel/Tilt (0,02 ? 0,03%) stauchen. Häufigkeit und eventuelle Erhöhung der Konzentration ist sehr stark von der Kultur- bzw. Klimaführung und der Witterung abhängig. Wir empfehlen daher ein langsames Herantesten an höhere Konzentrationen. Des Weiteren sollte man kurz bevor die Blütenblätter sichtbar sind mit Desmel/Tilt aufhören, da es zu Blütenverfärbungen führen kann.

Bei der Hortensientreiberei ist im Normalfall kein Pflanzenschutz nötig. Einzig Blattläuse und Botrytis können ein Problem darstellen. Gegen Blattläuse ist Pirimor Granulat recht gut verträglich und gegen Botytis hat sich Switch und Teldor bewährt. Es ist jedoch die Verträglichkeit im einzeln zu Prüfen, da der Entwicklungsstand der Pflanze entscheidend ist.

Diese Empfehlung ist in Zusammenarbeit mit der Firma ICL entstanden. Wir bitten Sie daher in Fragen zu Substratdüngung und zur Nachdüngung sich mit Ihrem zuständigen ICL-Fachberater in Verbindung zu setzen.

Wir hoffen Ihnen hiermit einen guten Start in die Hortensiensaison gegeben zu haben. Wenn Sie weitere Fragen zu den oben genannten oder andern Themen haben, stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis dafür, dass alles nur Empfehlungen sind und wir keine Haftung im Schadensfall sowie keine Zulassungsrechtlichen Konsequenzen übernehmen können.

This post is also available in: enEnglish